top of page
  • Writer's pictureDean Asquith

The Children of Gods and Fighting Men by Shauna Lawless Review

Updated: Aug 26, 2022

Writer: Shauna Lawless

Publisher: Head of Zeus - An Ad Astra Book

Genre: Fantasy/Historical Fiction

Publish Date: 1st September 2022

Pages: 448

ISBN: 9781803282602

Reviewed By: Dean Asquith

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Plot


They think they've killed the last of us...


981 AD. The Viking King of Dublin is dead. His young widow, Gormflaith, has ambitions for her son – and herself – but Ireland is a dangerous place and kings tend not to stay kings for long. Gormflaith also has a secret. She is one of the Fomorians, an immortal race who can do fire-magic. She has kept her powers hidden at all costs, for there are other immortals in this world – like the Tuatha Dé Danann, a race of warriors who are sworn to kill Fomorians.


Fódla is one of the Tuatha Dé Danann with the gift of healing. Her kind dwell hidden in a fortress, forbidden to live amongst the mortals. Fódla agrees to help her kin by going to spy on Brian Boru, a powerful man who aims to be High King of Ireland. She finds a land on the brink of war – a war she is desperate to stop. However, preventing the loss of mortal lives is not easy with Ireland in turmoil and the Fomorians now on the rise...


My Opinion


A spellbinding novel steeped in heart and vengeance that blends myth and history whilst being led by ferocious heroines!


Shauna Lawless arrives in the fantasy world with a magical explosion! Fans of Game of Thrones, Sarah J. Maas and Bernard Cornwell get ready to read your new favourite author! Shauna Lawless weaves Irish myth with history like a master at the loom! I knew nothing of Irish history or myth and thanks to Shauna, I am fully invested. The series ‘Gael Song’, which ‘The Children of Gods and Fighting Men’ kicks off, is already one of my favourite current series and I’m already counting down the days to the next release. At the time of writing this, the first one hasn’t even released yet!!


The Children of Gods and Fighting Men is a tale of generational rivalry, magical gifts and centred at its heart…humanities bonds. Within these covers is the start of what promises to be a magnificent series. Masterfully depicted battle scenes and treacherous tales of deceit keep the story alive and kicking. Never, at any point, did I feel that the pace slowed or was starting to burn out. From chapter to chapter there is so much to intake but not so much that the story becomes convoluted. There is the perfect amount of storytelling.


Gormflaith and Fódla are powerful female leads with sometimes literal fire flowing through their veins. Their individual journeys throughout the novel are riveting. The growth and development of all of the characters, not just the leads, is superb. Each has a well thought out and described backstory and all of them have a unique part to play in the novel. Shauna created beautiful character based imagery in my mind that stayed with me through each chapter.


A fast-paced blending of myth and history awaits you in this book. Let Shauna Lawless take you on a magical trip through ancient Ireland and fill your mind with beautiful stories and a diverse set of captivating characters. The Gael Song series promises to be a new fantasy classic so jump on board right at the start! Thank you Head of Zeus and Ad Astra for the ARC. This is the beginning of my new favourite fantasy series.


The Children of Gods and Fighting Men is out September 1st!

24 views0 comments
bottom of page